Lindgren and Prow receive First-Team All American honors

DSC_6216 7.51.58 PM

Photo by Maddie MacFarlane
Charlie Lindgren (left), Ethan Prow (right). Photos by Maddie MacFarlane.

St. Cloud State defensemen and senior captain Ethan Prow and goaltender Charlie Lindgren both were honored Friday night at the NCAA Frozen Four in Tampa Bay, Fl. They were two of the 24-man roster that were selected as the 2015-16 ACHA/CCM Men’s Hockey Division I All-American roster.

Lindgren started in 40 of 41 games for the Huskies this season, amassing a 30-9-1 record. He also received NCHC Goaltender of the Year honors after compiling a .925 save percentage as well as a 2.13 goals-against average. Lindgren is a finalist for the Mike Richter Award, which is given annually to the nation’s best goaltender.

After the season, Lindgren immediately got eyes of NHL teams who wanted him in their sweater. He ended up signing with the Montreal Canadiens, and immediately moved up to their first team as the backup goalie. He got his first start Thursday night against the Carolina Hurricanes and stopped 26 of the 28 shots he faced en route to a 4-2 victory and his first career win.

Prow, often regarded as one of the best defensemen in the country, followed a similar path. After a remarkable year where he amassed 38 points in 37 games, which led all defensemen in the nation, Prow also earned himself first team honors. He finished with 30 assists, another category he led the nation in, and was a finalist for the Hobey Baker Award. The Hobey Baker Award is given annually to the best player in the nation, as voted on by a committee and then fans.

Prow also found himself staring at a professional contract after the season ended. He signed an entry-level contract with the Pittsburgh Penguins, and immediately reported to their AHL affiliate, the Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins.

Seven NCHC players were selected to this year’s teams. Players are selected by members of the AHCA, which includes all the head coaches of the 60 Division I programs. The teams are split into an East and a West, according to conference.

West First-Team All-Americans

Goalie – Charlie Lindgren, JR., St. Cloud State

Defense – Ethan Prow, SR., St. Cloud State

Defense – Zach Werenski, SO, University of Michigan

Forward – Brock Boeser, FR, University of North Dakota

Forward – Kyle Connor, FR, University of Michigan

Forward – Tyler Motte, JR, University of Michigan

West Second-Team All-Americans

Goalie – Cam Johnson, SO, University of North Dakota

Defense – Will Butcher, JR, University of Denver

Defense – Troy Stecher, JR, University of North Dakota

Forward – Drake Caggiula, SR, University of North Dakota

Forward – J.T. Compher, JR, University of Michigan

Forward – Alex Petan, SR, Michigan Technological University


East First Team All-Americans

Goalie – Alex Lyon, JR, Yale University

Defense – Matt Grzelcyk, SR, Boston University

Defense – Jake Walman, SO, Providence College

Forward – Sam Anas, JR, Quinnipiac University

Forward – Andrew Poturalski, SO, New Hampshire

Forward – Jimmy Vesey, SR, Harvard University


East Second Team All-Americans

Goalie – Thatcher Demko, JR, Boston College

Defense – Gavin Bayreuther, JR, St. Lawrence University

Defense – Rob O’Gara, SR, Yale University

Forward – Ryan Fitzgerald, JR, Boston College

Forward – Mark Jankowski, SR, Providence College

Forward – Danny O’Regan, SR, Boston University

Please follow and like us:
Social Share Buttons and Icons powered by Ultimatelysocial
%d bloggers like this:
University Chronicle